ASTHO Alumni Society

The ASTHO Alumni Society is a community that supports former state and territorial health officials and provides opportunities for continued involvement with ASTHO on national public health issues.

A resource and network for former state and territorial health officials to:

  • Maintain and expand your network
  • Serve as an expert resource, mentor, or coach to S/THOs
  • Contribute to public health policy development
  • Advocate at a national level
  • Continue to keep current and engage your passion for public health
  • Maintain friendships
  • Participate in peer-led learning and sharing of potential job opportunities


Members of the ASTHO Alumni Society shall be those former members of ASTHO who are current dues paying members of the Alumni Society. A member shall be entitled to vote on all matters coming before the ASTHO Alumni Society and shall be eligible to serve as an officer of the Society. All alumni can attend the annual in-person Alumni Society Business meeting at the ASTHO Annual Meeting. All alumni can join quarterly calls discussing emerging public health issues and policies and sharing updates about their new roles.

Join the Alumni Society

Lifetime dues are $500, and alumni will be contacted regarding dues payment one year after transitioning to the alumni role. Dues payments are required to allow alumni society members to hold office within the alumni society. There are two payment options:

  1. Online payment: Please visit account.ASTHO.org to purchase your Alumni Dues. Select Alumni Society Dues and add to your cart. You will need to log in using your username, which is your primary email, and a password. If you do not know your password, please use the forgot password link or email the database manager for assistance.
  2. Mailing a Check: Please complete the payment form with check or credit card information and mail to the ASTHO mailing address.

Alumni Society Officers

Chair: David Lakey, Texas Alumnus
Past-Chair: Mark Horton, California, Nebraska Alumnus
Vice-Chair: Wendy Braund, Wyoming Alumna
Secretary Treasurer: Paul Jarris, Vermont Alumnus
Member-at-Large: Karen MacMaster, Michigan Alumna
Alumni Member of the Board: Terry Dwelle, North Dakota Alumnus